previous arrow
next arrow

Award Winners

Mr. Nadir Godrej – Green Business Titan

Axis Bank Foundation

Meghalaya Basin Management Agency

Wai Municipal Council

Sinnar Municipal Council

WayCool Foods and Products Private Limited

String Bio Private Limited

Nikky Kumar Jha

About the Awards

Started in 2008, The Earth Care Awards (ECAs), a joint initiative of JSW and The Times of India group have been recognizing and championing efforts towards climate mitigation and adaptation. The awards aim to recognize the work of individuals, organizations, and communities that are leading the way in combatting climate change, from reducing their carbon footprints to developing innovative technologies and initiatives. The intent of the ECAs is to showcase impactful, practical, scalable, and replicable cutting-edge solutions for our planet that can respond to the challenges posed by climate change.

Award Categories

Community Based Climate Action

Innovation in Climate Action

Business Leadership in Climate Action

Women Leaders in Climate Action

Enablers For Urban Centered Climate Change Management

Enterprises in The Renewable Energy Space


Screening Committee Members

Prof. Chetan Singh Solanki

Professor, IIT Bombay
Founder of Energy Swaraj Foundation
Brand Ambassador…

J. Srinivasan

Distinguished Scientist, Divecha Centre for Climate Change, Indian Institute of Science.

Zeenat Niazi

Senior Vice President, Chief Knowledge Officer Development Alternatives Group.

Prarthana Borah

Director, CDP IndiaPrarthana leads the implementation of the CDP India strategy. She..


Outreach Partner

The India Climate Collaborative accelerates grant funding towards climate solutions in India. We do this by identifying critical sectors that need investment and ensuring that funding flows towards high-impact climate solutions, enabling funders to engage more effectively with climate action. We work closely with the climate ecosystem, including research organisations, implementers, government stakeholders, businesses, and more, as well as engage with a domestic and international donor base to make this happen. The ICC achieves its mission of catalysing funding towards climate change through four broad verticals; the Climate Solutions Platform, India Climate Leaders, Sectors Catalyst, and Pooled Grant Funds. We were founded by some of India’s pre-eminent corporate and philanthropic leaders, including Rohini Nilekani, Ratan Tata, Anand Mahindra, Nadir Godrej, and others. The ICC is legally registered as the Council of Philanthropies for Climate Action.

The Council on Energy, Environment and Water (CEEW) is one of Asia’s leading not-for-profit policy research institutions. The Council uses data, integrated analysis, and strategic outreach to explain – and change – the use, reuse, and misuse of resources. It prides itself on the independence of its high-quality research, develops partnerships with public and private institutions, and engages with the wider public. In 2021, CEEW once again featured extensively across ten categories in the 2020 Global Go To Think Tank Index Report, including being ranked as South Asia’s top think tank (15th globally) in our category for the eighth year in a row. The Council has also been consistently ranked among the world’s top climate change think tanks. CEEW was certified a Great Place To Work® in 2020 and 2021. Follow us on Twitter @CEEWIndia for the latest updates.

The philosophy of the Energy Swaraj Foundation is based on scientific understanding and practical learnings through its seed project SoULS (Solar Urja through Localization for Sustainability) of IIT Bombay through which involved locals in assembly, sale, repair and in some cases manufacturing. Through SoULS we reached out to over 8 Million families by training 9000 local women, demonstrating the success of the idea of Energy Swaraj – “Energy by Locals for Locals”. This initiative has won the IEEE’s global grand prize of USD 100,000 for the Empowering Billion Lives competition, CSIR Award, Prime Minister’s Innovation award (to the SoULS in a district) and many others. The IEEE award money was fully donated to form the Energy Swaraj Foundation.